top of page
  • Writer's pictureNel

THE THEFT OF SUNLIGHT ~ INTISAR KHANANI*


“I’ve spent a lifetime putting up with cruelty and I’m not afraid to look his viciousness in the face.”


~~~~~~~~~~~~

SYNOPSIS:

I did not choose this fate. But I will not walk away from it.

Children have been disappearing from across Menaiya for longer than Amraeya ni Ansarim can remember. When her friend’s sister is snatched, Rae knows she can’t look away any longer - even if that means seeking answers from the royal court, where her country upbringing and clubfoot will only invite ridicule.

Yet the court holds its share of surprises. There she discovers an ally in the foreign princess, who recruits her as an attendant. Armed with the princess’s support, Rae seeks answers in the dark city streets, finding unexpected help in a rough-around-the-edges street thief with secrets of his own. But treachery runs deep, and the more Rae uncovers, the more she endangers the kingdom itself.


* I was gifted the book for an honest review

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BOOK REVIEW


To Note: Book 2 in the Dauntless Path series. Set in the same world as Thorn, (companion book) book 1 of duology

Genre: fantasy/ fairytale retellings

Plot: 5/5

Characters: 5/5

Writing Style: 5/5

Personal Enjoyment: 5/5

Overall Rating: 20/20


I absolutely adored Thorn, with it's dark retelling of The Goose Girl it had me lured in from the synopsis alone. So when I heard there would be more books set in this world, I was intrigued where the author would take it. As soon as I got my hands on it I started it and went on to devour it in two sittings ( darn those pesky adulting and parental duties!!)


Khanani draws you in with her beautiful storytelling and fantastic characterisation and The Theft of Sunlight was no different. I was impressed with how wonderfully thought out it was and all the complexity the author brought into the story. And I am so pleased that (beloved ) familiar characters still played such significant roles in this book. Especially loved seeing how Thorn was adjusting to Court life.


The protagonist of Theft of Sunlight however is Rae, a commoner who is summoned to the court by her cousin to keep her company. Rae though has no desire to be a part of the pomp and extravagance of court life, but she has compelling, personal reasons to accept. As she adjusts to court life and the unexpected role of the new princess's attendant she also starts looking for answers behind the disappearances of children that no official seems care to investigate.


The heart of this story is a mystery; one that had me horrified and intensely invested. In keeping with the dark slant that I have come to expect from Khanani, she does not shy away from how terrible and exploitative the world can be. But there are underlying moments of hope as Rae and her unlikely band of friends slowly work to uncover who is behind the disappearances.


I cannot tell you how much I loved Rae, her blunt, say it how it is, personality was wonderful. It meant we got to really know her, her motivations, her thoughts. Though I cannot personally vouch for how well the disability rep was (Rae has a clubfoot) my perception was that it was handled well and felt authentic.


It is always refreshing to see a character that, despite her vulnerabilities and personal hang ups can be self aware enough to acknowledge them but yet not let them get in the way. She is sure enough in her abilities that she does not let others undermine her. It made Rae so much more relatable and easier to love and root for. We have a few old faces pop up in this book that I absolutely loved. Some were more integral to the plot than others but it was still wonderful to see them still be involved.


I thought Theft of Sunlight is a beautiful addition to the Dauntless Path series. It expands and enriches the world we first encounter in Thorn. Khanani has such a sublime style, that she draws you in effortlessly and I guarantee you will find it impossible to set the book down. If you love fantasy, with great world building (without info dumping) mystery and a whole host of interesting characters, then this is the book for you! highly recommend to all.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page