top of page
  • Writer's pictureNel

THE INVISIBLE LIFE OF ADDIE LARUE~ V.E. SCHWAB

"What a luxury, to tell one's story. To be read, remembered"

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Synopsis: When Addie La Rue makes a pact with the devil, she trades her soul for immortality. But there's always a price - the devil takes away her place in the world, cursing her to be forgotten by everyone. Addie flees her tiny home town in 18th-Century France, beginning a journey that takes her across the world, learning to live a life where no one remembers her and everything she owns is lost and broken. Existing only as a muse for artists throughout history, she learns to fall in love anew every single day.

Her only companion on this journey is her dark devil with hypnotic green eyes, who visits her each year on the anniversary of their deal. Alone in the world, Addie has no choice but to confront him, to understand him, maybe to beat him.

Until one day, in a second hand bookshop in Manhattan, Addie meets someone who remembers her. Suddenly thrust back into a real, normal life, Addie realises she can't escape her fate forever.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


BOOK REVIEW


You will like this if you like: The Age of Adeline.


Content Warning: Suicide attempt, depression, attempted assault, substance abuse.


Genre: Fantasy

Plot: 5/5

Characters: 5/5

Writing Style: 5/5

Personal Enjoyment: 5 /5

Overall Rating: 20/20


Every so often a book comes along that just embeds itself deep in the core of your being and you know it wont let go. This is going to haunt me for a long time. I have highlighted passages upon passages in this book. Its drawn so many emotions out of me, and yet I feel I have no words to describe any of it! Whatever I write just feels inadequate. But I will try, if only so that I can persuade you to pick this up! We first meet Addie as a girl growing up in rural France in the 1700s. But as she grows she knows she wants more. In a desperate attempt to escape the life she knows will slowly crush her, she makes a rash deal. But as we all know the devil is in the detail, and the consequence of which follows her through her long, lonely immortal life. I couldnt love Addie more, I wanted to protect the little girl she was, and befriend the woman she becomes. And alleviate some of her loneliness that envelops her much like her favourite leather jacket. I cannot tell you how many times my heart broke for her. But as we traverse through time and place with her, you see her learn, grow and become so resilient that you cant help but smile and cheer her on.  This was such a unique take on making a deal with the devil, Schwab shows that the need to feel seen, to be able to share in the lives of those we care for, to feel we have left a mark on this world no matter how small, is a powerful motivation. And ultimately, to be able to have our story told, to be allowed to say; I was here, I loved, and I lived, is probably the biggest gift any one of us can hope to receive. I would highly recommend this book, 7 perfectly placed constellation of stars! *Thank you @veschwab @netgalley @titanbooks for my #gifted copy in exchange for an honest review. The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is now Live. (6th October 2020)





10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page