top of page
  • Writer's pictureNel

THE DARE ~ ELLE KENNEDY


BLURB: College was supposed to be my chance to get over my ugly-duckling complex and spread my wings. Instead, I wound up in a sorority full of mean girls. I already have a hard time fitting in, so when my Kappa Chi sisters issue the challenge, I can’t say no.

The dare: seduce the hottest new hockey player in the junior class.

Conor Edwards is a regular at Greek Row parties…and in Greek Row sorority beds. He’s the one you fall for before you learn that guys like him don’t give girls like me a second glance. Except Mr. Popular throws me for a loop—rather than laughing in my face, he does me a solid by letting me take him upstairs to pretend we’re getting busy.

Even crazier, now he wants to keep pretending. Turns out Conor loves games, and he thinks it’s fun to pull the wool over my frenemies’ eyes. But resisting his easy charm and surfer-boy hotness is darn near impossible. Though I’m realizing there’s much more to Conor’s story than his fan club can see. And the longer this silly ruse goes on, the greater the danger of it all blowing up in my face.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BOOK REVIEW


Genre: Contemporary Romance


You will like this if you like:

~ Sports/New Adult/ college Romance

~

To Note: Book 4 in series, could be read as a standalone.

Plot: 3.5/5

Characters: 4 /5

Writing Style: 4/5

Personal Enjoyment: 3.5/5

Overall Rating: 15 /20

We are back in Brier U! And this time we are following Conor's story. I like a good fake dating trope set in college,  since that usually means there is a frenemie or a full blown Mean girl(s) in the background somewhere. And there is plenty of both! As with all Elle Kennedy's books I devoured this in one sitting, her stories just flow so easily. 

The main characters were easy to like and it was great to see characters from previous books popping up too. Conor is a laid back Californian who ends up on the opposite coast to play hockey and to escape secrets from his past. While Taylor is dealing with her own issues and insecurities. They meet at a party as part of a dare orchestrated by Taylor's former friend and current nemesis. A dare designed to humiliate Taylor. Thankfully Conor is decent enough to play along so Taylor is not embarrassed. He even goes a step further and hatches a plan to extend their ruse. I thought the story line was interesting, nothing felt forced and there was a good twist to the usual fake dating trope. I liked how the main couple were normal people with normal aspirations (Taylor is studying to be a teacher!) and I appreciated a low angst read, it was exactly what I was craving right now.


The relationship between Conor and Taylor is so sweet, and I love how he shows Taylor she shouldn't be ashamed of her voluptuous figure. And though he believes her insecurities are unfounded, he does not dismiss her feelings. Instead he lets her deal with her insecurities at her own pace. I also liked how the "conflicts" from Conor's past, was dealt with, it was not over the top dramatic, making it feel a little more believable.


Overall this was an adorable, sweet, steamy romance, and another great addition to the Brier U series. I would recommend this whole series if you enjoy college, sports and new adult romances.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page