top of page
  • Writer's pictureNel

STRANGE THE DREAMER ~ LAINI TAYLOR

"It was impossible, of course. But when did that ever stop any dreamer from dreaming?"


BLURB: The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around -

and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he's been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance to lose his dream forever. What happened in Weep two hundred years ago to cut it off from the rest of the world? What exactly did the Godslayer slay that went by the name of god? And what is the mysterious problem he now seeks help in solving?

The answers await in Weep, but so do more mysteries - including the blue-skinned goddess who appears in Lazlo's dreams. How did he dream her before he knew she existed? And if all the gods are dead, why does she seem so real? In this sweeping and breathtaking new novel by National Book Award finalist Laini Taylor, author of the New York Times bestselling Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy, the shadow of the past is as real as the ghosts who haunt the citadel of murdered gods. Fall into a mythical world of dread and wonder, moths and nightmares, love and carnage.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



~BOOK REVIEW


You will enjoy this book if you like:

~ mystery

~ Epic journey

~ Gods/ Goddesses/ Beings with powers

~ Underdog characters

~ Libraries/ seeking knowledge

~ Flawed heroes/heroines


TO NOTE:

1) Book 1 of series, huge cliffhanger (but not to worry, book 2 is out)

2) Trigger warning: Indirect mentions of Abuse(not graphic).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


WRITING STYLE: 5/5

CHARACTERS: 5/5

PLOT: 5/5

PERSONAL ENJOYMENT: 5/5

OVERALL RATING: 20/20


So as a rating of 20/20 you would think this would be an easy review to write. Not so, because now I have to convey to you in words (that I am pretty sure don't exist!) what feelings this invoked in me. All the while not giving away any spoilers! All I want to do is shout at you " read it, read it READ IT!!' until you relent and sit with me and READ IT!! But since I have been reliably informed that its not lawful to go all Kathy Bates Misery on you, I will try my hardest to explain to you why you MUST READ THS BOOK!!


First of all Laini Taylor's writing is exquisite, each word, each sentence, each turn of phrase is MEANT to be there; it is the perfect word to convey the perfect meaning in that perfect moment. What more can I say?? I savoured the words, I felt the beautiful meanings deep in my being. I loved it. Laini Taylor is now on my radar and I am ready to devour ALL her books!


And so we come to the characters and Lazlo, in particular. My beautiful, pure hearted, noble, courageous, crooked nosed, junior librarian, Lazlo!

At one point, in desperation Lazlo questions himself; " who am I? What do I have to offer?"

Well so, so much dear, dear Lazlo! I can count on one hand the number of characters that I deeply deeply love. Lazlo easily made the cut. Laini Taylor has written a character that could scarcely be any more real to me than if I had met him walking down the street!


We first meet Lazlo at the tender age of 5 years old. We learn that despite what he endures growing up he still manages to grow up to be someone with strong ethics and tender compassion. The journey of discovery, and the inevitable transformation he undergoes because of it was wonderful. What I loved most was how the others around him slowly had their eyes opened to what we as readers already knew about him; he is kind, intelligent, noble, compassionate and pure of soul and intent.


There is a huge cast of characters in this book. This normally puts me off as I find it hard to stay interested in all the characters equally and invariably care less for some over others. However each character has so much depth and such richness in their makeup (whether from their backstory, their interactions, or relationships with other characters) it is impossible not to get drawn in and feel invested in their stories. Three such notable characters are Eril-Fane, Azareen and Suheyla. I feel I can't say anymore about these characters without major spoilers.


So now we come to the story itself, The prologue sets the scene and tone in the most shocking and heart wrenching of ways. The story then progresses in several POVs in third person narrative. Though it is mainly Lazlo's and one other. I have to admit for the first few chapters I was desperate to follow Lazlo's story alone, but as we learn more and more about the other characters then the other POVs become more and more interesting. But it was very clear from the beginning why the other POVs were needed so I didn't mind it too much.

I loved the unfolding story there was so much to take in, and it was all revealed at the right pace, though not always in a chronological order. I loved being given a little bit of a mystery or a nugget of information about a character that I was left to mull over until it was revealed or explained from either another character or from another memory.


The descriptions of the surroundings during the journey and the actual city of Weep, personally brought to mind some rich Arabian like, arid landscape and I loved it.

The magical elements were at times fascinating and terrifying in their uses/misuses. It enhances the story beautifully.


I didn't just enjoy this book, I loved it, the writing style added a dreamlike quality to it (which was apt given Lazlo's preoccupation!) that was a beautiful way of story telling!This was beautiful, and horrifying, heartbreaking, and uplifting, and epic and an absolutely exhilarating read.


Please someone make this into a film trilogy (one film is NOT enough to encapsulate such a richly written book!) or better yet; 10 season series and make sure Laini Taylor has all creative control, as only she can do it right!

VERDICT: Read it! Read it! READ IT! (And then come talk to me about it, please and thank you!)


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Favourite quotes:


"Here, captured between covers, was the history of the human imagination, and nothing had ever been more beautiful, or fearsome, or bizarre."


"Here was the radical notion that you might help someone simply because they needed it."


" a hundred smithereens of darkness"


"I turned my nightmares into fireflies and caught them in a jar"

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page