top of page
  • Writer's pictureNel

GLEAM ~ RAVEN KENNEDY (The Plated Prisoner series part 3)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


SYNOPSIS: "I don't choose him. Not anymore. I'm choosing me."


King Midas made me the woman I am today. Notorious. Unattainable. His.


The thing about being confined is that you believe it’s to keep the bad out. ...Until you realize it’s about keeping you in.


I’m now in a strange kingdom surrounded by liars, with no allies of my own, but I won’t sit idly by and let myself wither. No, there’s something that’s bloomed from the pit of my repression. Something dark. Something angry.


But the last thing I expected was for my anger to call out to him. King Ravinger.


He’s sinister and powerful and entirely too seductive. I’ve learned my lesson with trusting manipulative kings, so why does my chest constrict every time he’s near? I need to tread carefully, or I’m at risk of losing much more than just my freedom.


Regret and revenge war inside of me, and I need to figure out a plan fast before I get tangled up in the schemes of kings and queens.


Because I won’t be caught in a cage again. No, this time, it’ll be me setting the trap.

…I just hope my heart comes out of this unscathed.


Please note: This is an adult fantasy series with dark elements that may be triggering, including Stockholm Syndrome and emotional manipulation, as well as explicit romance scenes. Read at your own discretion.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


BOOK REVIEW:


Genre: Dark Adult Fantasy Romance

Series: Book 3, The Plated Prisoner series

Release date: out now

Plot: 4.5/5

Characters: 4.5/5

Writing Style: 4.5/5

Personal Enjoyment: 4.5/5

Overall Rating: 18/20

TW: Mention of child sexual abuse, grooming.

As its book 3 I'll keep it vague. the dynamics between the characters are ever changing so you're never sure who Auren should trust. Book 3 is primarily focused on Midas's grab for more power and his manipulations of the people around him. We also get more information on King Ravinger and some of his motivations though its also clear there is a lot more to uncover there.


We also get so much more from all the other characters, having the other POVs really helps see all the power struggles and mechanisations people are involved in. I particularly enjoyed reading Queen Malina's chapters as she is a complicated character, who I feel has been treated really badly thus far. Though her involvement in some events have left me doubting if she has any redeemable quality! Reading from Midas's POV was interesting and seeing his motivations was useful.


Book 3 is primarily focused on Midas's grab for more power and his manipulations of the people around him. We also get more information on King Ravinger and some of his motivations though its also clear there is a lot more to uncover there. I am really curious to see what Fourth Kingdom is like and Im hoping we will get to see it in book 4.


With each book more of the world is opened up and we get to see more of the pieces in play. In Gleam we get to see Auren slowly realise and come to terms with her reality and how much of a prisoner she really was. With it comes a lot of confusion and self doubt but ultimately it leads to Auren taking back her agency. I feel like a lot of things came to a head but also so many more possibilities have opened up. I cannot wait to see how the story progresses in book 4. This series is such an addictive, well written, fast paced read and absolutely perfect for binging. Highly recommend!


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


INTL Tour-wide Instagram Giveaway!


Head over to my Instagram account to enter the tour giveaway where you can win your choice of any book in The Plated Prisoner series! Ends on September 25th, 2021. Winner will be announced on @mtmctours’ Instagram account. -------


INTL Tour-wide Blog Giveaway! Enter the Rafflecopter below to win kindle copies of all three books in The Plated Prisoner series!! Ends on September 25th, 2021. Winner will be announced on the Rafflecopter and contacted via email by MTMC Tours. Rafflecopter code: a Rafflecopter giveaway Link to Rafflecopter: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/2aeeb25b89/? -------


About Raven Kennedy: Raven Kennedy writes in a range of genres, including fantasy, paranormal, contemporary, dark romance, and romcoms. Whether she makes you laugh or cry, she loves creating worlds and making characters you can root for. She is a California girl born and raised, drinker of tea, and lover of dark chocolate. When she's not writing, she can be found binge watching The Office and The Great British Baking Show, or with her nose stuck in a book.


Tour Schedule: September 13 @paperfury - Bookstagram + Book Blog @victoriabooklover - Bookstagram September 14 @bookishbellee - Bookstagram + Book Blog @thebeautyandthebooks - Bookstagram September 15 @bookswithmichellee - Bookstagram + Book Blog @jupiterdropsco - Bookstagram September 16 @thereaderandthechef - Bookstagram + Book Blog @mtmctours - Bookstagram September 17 @nelthewhichcraftsbooks - Bookstagram + Book Blog @journeybetweenpages - Bookstagram September 18 @a_bookish_dream - Bookstagram + Book Blog @courtofbingereading - Bookstagram September 19 @my_heart_is_booked - Bookstagram + Book Blog @books_over_everything - Bookstagram September 20 @larasbookcase - Bookstagram + Book Blog @unexpectedbook - Bookstagram @clarkbookreviews - Bookstagram September 21 @pavlinamich - Bookstagram + Book Blog @asternyx - Bookstagram September 22 @elle.cheshire - Bookstagram + Book Blog @calmdust - Bookstagram

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page