top of page
  • Writer's pictureNel

GILD AND GLINT (THE PLATED PRISONER SERIES) ~ RAVEN KENNEDY

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~





SYNOPSIS FOR BOOK 1:

The fae abandoned this world to us. And the ones with power rule.

Gold.

Gold floors, gold walls, gold furniture, gold clothes. In Highbell, in the castle built into the frozen mountains, everything is made of gold.

Even me.

King Midas rescued me. Dug me out of the slums and placed me on a pedestal. I’m called his precious. His favored. I’m the woman he Gold-Touched to show everyone that I belong to him. To show how powerful he is. He gave me protection, and I gave him my heart. And even though I don’t leave the confines of the palace, I’m safe.

Until war comes to the kingdom and a deal is struck.

Suddenly, my trust is broken. My love is challenged, and I realize that everything I thought I knew about Midas might be wrong.

Because these bars I’m kept in, no matter how gilded, are still just a cage.

But the monsters on the other side might make me wish I’d never left.


The myth of King Midas reimagined. This compelling adult fantasy series is as addictive as it is unexpected. With romance, intrigue, and danger, the gilded world of Orea will grip you from the very first page.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


BOOK REVIEW


Genre: Dark fantasy/ fairytale retellings


GILD (BOOK 1):

Plot: 3.5/5

Characters: 4/5

Writing Style: 4.5/5

Personal Enjoyment: 4/5

Overall Rating: 16/20


GLINT (BOOK 2):

Plot: 4/5

Characters: 5/5

Writing Style: 4.5/5

Personal Enjoyment: 4/5

Overall Rating: 18.5/20


TW: listed at the end of the review.


I read these books back to back, late into the night. Such completely addictive and fast reads. This series is a reimagining of the tale of King Midas. I have to commend the author for taking the story and completely flipping it on its head! The premise is so much more darker (trigger warnings listed at the end of the review) and some characters are menacing and their motives are far more insidious than we are initially led to believe. As the story unfolds, and we get a true sense of the life Auren, the gold touched favourite of King Midas actually leads. It becomes clear that Auren is not living the charmed life most believe. That even though she CHOOSES to stay in a gilded cage she still is not free. There are plenty of twists and turns that will keep you reading.


The author takes the story in a whole different direction in book 2 which I thought was inspired. Book 2 sees Auren a prisoner yet again, but this time not everything is at it seems. The longer she is among the army of the Fourth Kingdom the more she questions her previous life and the choices she has made.


There is a wide cast of characters and rather than retract from the story I felt it enriched it. The characters through their roles and their motivations help give us a greater understanding of the world and how it operates.


Auren was an interesting character, at the beginning it feels like she is very naive and deliberately so, as if she is too weak willed to accept what her true reality is. But as we get to know more of her back story and new revelations come to light it is clear there is more to Auren. She does nothing to dissuade all the negative opinions people have of her, to keep her secrets. Yet regardless of how life has treated her, and still continues to treat her, she does not lose the 'good' she has in her core. She helps those around her countless times though it is a thankless task.


The other characters are all multi-faceted with their own desires, motivations and weaknesses. Which meant that on the few instances we change POVs I wasn't bored and desperate to get back to the main story arc. I am interested to see how some of their manoeuvres plays out as the series progresses.


Meeting Commander Rip was exciting because it was clear from the moment he was introduced that he would be an important integral part of the story. The interactions between Auren and Commander Rip were some of my favourites. Actually pretty much all the interactions between Auren and people of the Fourth Kingdom was my favourite.


Raven Kennedy's writing style is simple and engrossing, the story was paced so well that there no points when the story was flagging. It took me up until about the 30% mark to get a sense of where the story was going but once I did I was all in and fully invested in seeing how the story would progress. This is definitely a bingeable series my only wish is that book 4 was already out as I already know I will be picking up book 3 as soon as I have finished writing this review!


End of Review - Read on for GIVEAWAY and TRIGGER WARNINGS.


INTL Tour-wide Instagram Giveaway!


Head over to my Instagram account to enter the tour giveaway where one reader will win a copy of Gild (book 1) OR Glint! Ends on August 22nd, 2021. Winner will be announced on @mtmctours’ Instagram account.


-------


About Raven Kennedy:

Raven Kennedy writes in a range of genres, including fantasy, paranormal, contemporary, dark romance, and romcoms.

Whether she makes you laugh or cry, she loves creating worlds and making characters you can root for.

She is a California girl born and raised, drinker of tea, and lover of dark chocolate. When she's not writing, she can be found binge watching The Office and The Great British Baking Show, or with her nose stuck in a book.

Website | Instagram | Goodreads



Tour Schedule:

August 9

@paperfury - Bookstagram + Book Blog

@victoriabooklover - Bookstagram


August 10

@bookishbellee - Bookstagram + Book Blog

@thebeautyandthebooks - Bookstagram


August 11

@thereaderandthechef - Bookstagram + Book Blog

@jupiterdropsco - Bookstagram


August 12

@bookswithmichellee - Bookstagram + Book Blog

@clarkbookreviews - Bookstagram


August 13

@nelthewhichcraftsbooks - Bookstagram + Book Blog

@journeybetweenpages - Bookstagram

August 14

@a_bookish_dream - Bookstagram + Book Blog

@courtofbingereading - Bookstagram


August 15

@elle.cheshire - Bookstagram + Book Blog

@books_over_everything - Bookstagram


August 16

@unexpectedbook - Bookstagram

@larasbookcase - Bookstagram


August 17

@pavlinamich - Bookstagram + Book Blog

@asternyx - Bookstagram


August 18

@my_heart_is_booked - Bookstagram + Book Blog

@calmdust - Bookstagram

Hosted by:


.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

TW: This book contains explicit content and darker elements, including mature language, violence, and non-consensual sex, on page rape.



19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page